Archinect
anchor

Revamping an old-school engineering firm

bahraini

Hello everyone,

I am now a licensed Architect. I have worked with my Uncle since I started studying architecture. He is extremely old school. So much so that he does rely mostly on hard copy drawings and has little exposure to CAD and similar software. He had designed many projects in my country and has a great team of engineers working for him. But the office is now run down. It is old with cracks everywhere and leaks, file cabinets containing two-decade old projects and documents. We do not have a PM and no one else would love to bring the firm back to life as much as I do.

We have the following departments ( Civil, Architecture, MEP, and Land Survey). We have about 19 employees at the meantime. But yet, I feel I need to revamp this firm and bring back its glory new-school style.

Since I am pretty much a fresh graduate I lack much of the experience many of you have. So I would love to hear some advice. The office will be torn down and done from scratch that means I will have to bring in an IT team to help with all the new wiring etc.

If there already is a similar thread with the same points, that would be great. 

Alright so I need recommendations regarding the following

- Server system ( I have had many problems before with colleagues saving a file as "20.10.2015 client A villa' and then find out that the latest revised one was 19.10.2015" this was truly a nightmare. How can I sort this out. How can I establish a server system with a single file that can be edited simultaneously. Is there a software?

- Organization : How to organize all my projects, clientele, documents. Should it be digital? What should my secretary be responsible for? 

We have 3 Civil engineers (1 structural, 2 site engineers)

4 Architects 

3 MEP engineers

4 Land surveyors

2 Secretaries 

1 accountant