Archinect
anchor

Web or pdf portfolio?

ahfair

Hi, I'm an architecture student in the process of looking for jobs and putting together a portfolio. Is it appropriate to use a website like WordPress to create an online portfolio, or do employers prefer to see a printed/ PDF portfolio? Thanks! 

Oct 27, 15 12:50 pm
tduds

PDF. If you want to set up a web portfolio, include it as a link in your application, but definitely send the PDF as well.

Oct 27, 15 12:59 pm  · 
1  · 

agree with tduds,  i review lots of applications each week and only click on any link if the application is REALLY interesting. Or on a further review. But never on any application I though "where's the website?"

focus on the PDF portfolio. this will take a lot of time already. only go for the website if you have time to spare.... cos it will take even more time and is not that important.

Oct 28, 15 5:17 am  · 
1  · 
SpatialSojourner

Most require an attached PDF of sub 5mb.  That means that the portfolio should focus solely on your best work in less than 25 pages and compressed so that the quality isn't bad.  My website is listed on my resume but it's more of an added bonus and (through google analytics) most don't actually look at it.  

Oct 28, 15 8:18 am  · 
 · 
Agreed with the above. When I was doing my job search three years ago, only a few firms looked at my website.
Oct 28, 15 8:22 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
I've only done websites and hard bound paper portfolios.
Oct 28, 15 9:28 am  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

i'd supply a link to your linkedin profile in your cover letter.  You can put pdfs of your resume and portfolio there and be able to track who's looking at it.

Oct 28, 15 1:50 pm  · 
 · 

This article might be helpful for you. Good luck!

The Two Page Architecture Portfolio

Oct 30, 15 12:13 am  · 
 · 
Ben Jackson