Archinect
anchor

Taking a year course in the US just to get work experience, with this portfolio, is it possible?

yow0712

Hi all,

I completed my degree and master in Malaysia and UK and I am now looking to take a year course at a university in the US. My primary,probably the only intention to do so is get some work experience after graduated from the uni.

I am just wondering based on my portfolio (link attached below), is it possible for me to get a job in the US.

http://issuu.com/yow0712/docs/archinect-portfolio_150_

I am currently an architectural assistant in a London-based company in its Beijing office where the projects are basically everywhere, London, Mumbai, China but they are all not built projects, but all at conceptual design stage. This is what this company does. I also have a year of working experience in Singapore but it was back in 2012.

Based on your professional experience, would this portfolio potentially get me a job after my graduation? 

Thanks,

Yohan

Oct 26, 15 1:33 am

I think you need to research the work visa and green card system before you pursue this much further, the US is very hostile to immigration right now and it is illegal to employ people who are not naturalized citizens or who hold one of the very limited workers visas. 

Oct 26, 15 9:20 am  · 
 · 
poop876

Peter, don't forget permanent residents are allowed to work as well!

I agree with Peter, there are other factors to consider before just showing up with a portfolio or book in your case.

If you have the necessary visa and are legally allowed to work in the U.S., this portfolio is too long for my taste and I got bored after 20 pages. Nice graphics but I think it can be reduced down significantly. 

Oct 26, 15 9:33 am  · 
 · 
no_form
What's a year course? A post professional degree? Definitely need to figure out your visa situation. Portfolio is nice but too long.