Archinect
anchor

Humane architecture

kristinelv

Hello! I graduated from Riga technical university this june and currently doing some freelance stuff/travelling and looking forward to enroll in a school next fall 2016

I am aware already of the good schools but what I want to do/specialize is nowhere close to comercial/zaha hadid/grasshooper/digital architecture. I am looking more in the direction of sustainable/shelter type/humane architecture. So i am looking for graduate program - 2yrs professional master diploma, i guess in every country its called different. In latvia the program we have doesn't satisfy my needs. Nothing else except Lund uni in Sweden I haven't found yet(looking in europe), the price also matters, i don't want to be in a 5 digit debt.

I want a program that would teach me psychological aspects in architecture/ lightning design/ use of materials that reproduce themselves, like the bamboo houses that they are building in Bali. I want to design for the humanity. If i will have to fly the ocean to study that, I will.

Thankyou!

Also I would appritiate any suggestions on my portfolio: http://issuu.com/kristinebalta/docs/myportfolio

Oct 24, 15 10:11 am
Spoons

Front cover I feel is too busy.

In addition to my disdain for portfolios which prominently feature "PORTFOLIO" sprawled all across the front cover, I detest the listing of dates on portfolio.  2011-2015 - As if it's an inscription on some sort of tombstone.  Anyone else?

Try off Hyphenate in InDesign.   The type face choices are poor and hierarchy of the text and titles needs more polish.  Sometimes titles are justified left, sometimes they are justified right, sometimes captions are below images, sometimes they are above.  Unify the text arrangement, embrace a clear hierarchy with sizes/styles and be judicious in the way you implement it.