Archinect
anchor

summer job in detroit

ALDAVIS

Im currently studying at USC I had this thought the other day about looking for a summer internship/work outside of Los Angeles, one city that came to mind is Detroit.  because I am concerned with the development of a new model city and the kinds of solutions that are being worked on in that city as it goes through this revitalization process.  I am really into 'avant garde' ideas and solutions for example I have begun to read and study about the work of superstudio during the late 60s and into the 70s. I am interested in how these ideas can translate and manifest in a place like detroit which is essentially starting from scratch. 

I was wondering if anybody could provide any advice as to firms to look towards or if Detroit is even a viable place to spend time and work, if the pay offered there is competitive and what kind of experience could be expected? 

I wish I could articulate my thoughts more clearly, but I hope a reader can kind of understand the person I am and what I am proposing here in this thread. I'm basically sort of a cynical anarchist, I don't believe in money, I think aliens are real and that they (the govt) have reptilian fossils hidden in fort knox. I am very concerned with underground movements and energy and I am wondering what kind of opportunities lie in a city like Detroit for a young designer. How the new city can be influenced or if it can even be influenced by more radical design concepts. If there are in fact firms/people there that are doing this kind of work and who they are. 

Oct 21, 15 1:52 am
Carrera