Archinect
anchor

How to charge for a Kitchen & Bath renovation

mtdew

Hi everyone. I'm a licensed architect working in nyc.  I have a full time job with a good salary and have been working  in high end residential for about 12 years. 

An old friend bought an old house in NJ and asked me for architectural plans to file with the town for a kitchen and bath renovation. They plan to move some walls and plumbing around. 

The plan is that I will provide the permit plans and then they will work with their contractor to specify and purchase the kitchen cabinets, appliances, plumbing, etc. 

I don't take on side projects like this but the only reason I am is because he's a close friend. I estimate that this will end up taking about 40 work hours. We have not  yet discussed money and I have no idea how to charge him. Flat fee? Hourly?

Please advise if anyone have any good suggestions or experience doing work for family and friends. 

Thanks.

Oct 19, 15 5:33 pm
chigurh

don't

Oct 19, 15 5:35 pm  · 
 · 
null pointer

1. It will take more than 40 hours; especially if you're building your own graphics assets from scratch.

2. start by saying "i'm not cheap"

3. charge at minimum 5k total. anything less is not sustainable as part of an on-going practice in the city. tell him to get a jersey architect if he wants something cheaper. we have rent to contend with, and autodesk likes to go after people with new york registrations.

Oct 19, 15 5:48 pm  · 
 · 
JLC-1

ask him to get an estimate from a non friend architect, then give him a 20% friendship discount.

Oct 19, 15 6:06 pm  · 
 · 
poop876

All experienced architect will tell you the same thing... Don't do any work for a friend!

Oct 19, 15 6:08 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

If you're not willing to do it gratis because they're a friend, don't do it.

Oct 19, 15 6:16 pm  · 
 · 
haruki