Archinect
anchor

How I should know when not to exceed my boundaries as an architect to the field of engineering?

Zaina

I am an architecture student, and I can say I am a good designer, but my major intrest lies in building technology and engineering… I would never say that I made a mistake getting into an architecture school... Architecture have literally changed me...! It changed my perspective to life and gave me a room to express myself, my thoughts, and ideas when I could discover the creative part of me… but this is not the issue… the problem is that I cannot see my boundaries as an architect! My professors sometimes ask me to stop and step back “…because that’s an engineer job…” or so they say… but What if a design had a complex kind of structures that needs the architect to design or otherwise the engineer will come and mess up the concept?

The reason why I am posting this is that I am currently developing a compactable deployable shelter for catastrophes as a 1 year graduation project in parallel with a research… this kind of projects is technology preponderant and requires me studying -in the first place- structural mechanism… (or so I started…)… I am really terrified that I am going into engineering or risking with a strong failure this year; ending up with minimal work or a repetition of already applied technologies :'(  … Am I in the right path? I am wondering if  some of you could advise me how to start?

some might think this post is silly, but to note my school is kind of a new school ( the truth is we're the first batch of architecture graduating from my campus & I have little vista of what students are doing in other universities, but looking at portfolios from top schools all over the world we're doing good - and putting lots of money on this sh!.. school-)... sorry for writing a long story :p

Oct 10, 15 1:15 pm
citizen