Archinect
anchor

Start a new career in Dubai

xixusim

I'm currently considering to move over and get a job in Dubai. I've been working in the field for 2 years by now. Can anyone provide tips on expected salary to pick up a junior position? Also, cost of living and living culture in Dubai. Thanks!

Sep 30, 15 1:11 am
sameolddoctor

Dont get me wrong on this, but whats your race? They routinely tend to pay more to white people, even though one might be at the same position as someone from Asia. Just saying.

Sep 30, 15 1:48 pm  · 
 · 
ivorykeyboard

I spent three weeks in the UAE and i've worked on some projects over there. If I had to live anywhere in the Arabian Peninsula as an architect, i'd probably choose the UAE. The pay seemed to be generally decent for experienced expats, but I can't say if this is true for junior level positions. Either way, I would say it's a place to work temporarily... it's such a boom/bust economy. 

Definitely echo what sameolddoctor said, although they don't really treat folks from Asia poorly unless you're from India/Bangladesh/etc. 

Sep 30, 15 2:13 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

ivory, I do know of some peeps from China and Korea that work there that get paid lesser than White Americans/Europeans in similar positions.

Sorry to put it this way, but it is what it is...

Sep 30, 15 2:33 pm  · 
 · 
ivorykeyboard

Maybe - honestly I didnt work with many East Asians in the UAE (i'm not counting Asian-Americans). But I really can't see a  global/western firm engaging in such discriminatory practices... and they tend to be doing a majority of the "interesting" work. 

Sep 30, 15 4:36 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla

Doesn't sound like a fun place to live..

Sep 30, 15 6:41 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

Hmm, I AM talking of some of these major American firms.

Sep 30, 15 6:51 pm  · 
 · 
xixusim

sameolddoctor: definitely understand the reason behind your question. I'm a Malaysian Chinese. Any tips on how much to expect?:)