Archinect
anchor

Creating A Professional Work Portfolio (Advice)

blanket statements

Hi All,

I have been working for the past 6 years, having spent 4 abroad all throughout Asia. I have worked on countless projects ranging from interiors, retail, print, and visual merchandising. I am now returning to the US and plan on applying for jobs. However, I'm not too sure how to represent my works. I have browsed many portfolios which typically happen to be students who have a lot of diagrams and pretty process images. My main collection of my work are rendered images or final product images. Is there an example or way I can feature my work nicely?

Long story short....I am a professional with lots of projects but not a lot of process/ diagram images. Any suggestions on putting together a nice portfolio?

Thanks

Sep 25, 15 5:23 am
thearchitectsguide

When applying to any architecture job I advise applicants to use the shortest portfolio possible.

For the first contact architecture application I recommend a “sample portfolio”, usually two to five pages long. Just like the resume, it is only a snapshot of your greatest work and experience.

I am only talking about the initial introduction to a firm, not the in person interview. For that I recommend a full length traditional portfolio.  

As for what to include in this short portfolio try to think about the process in reverse. Instead of building a portfolio and looking for a job, find a firm or specific job you are interested in and build a relevant, targeted portfolio for that role. A portfolio to a high design firm would look very different compared to a more conventional office.

I also suggest reaching out to anyone and everyone you know in the architecture community. Do you have any current or former co-workers at firms you want to work for? Hopefully this will help you get your foot in the door!

This article might be helpful for you.

The Two Page Architecture Portfolio

Good luck!

Brandon