Archinect
anchor

Ornamentation.... M.ARCH Thesis

designer_jawn

So, I am really interested in the return of ornamentation in contemporary architecture and its affect on how people perceive the place based on the facade. I am just beginning my research, I already have many great sources about this subject. Where I am struggling though is how I could translate this into a thesis design project next fall. Since ornamentation is such a broad topic, I am having difficulty narrowing it down. Currently, I want to see if there are any patterns in the return of ornamentation, for example, are there certain building programs that architects use a lot of ornamentation on the facade. Also, I was hoping to find if there is a much larger reason for the return of ornamentation because of technology or new way to use a building material that allows ornamentation to take over our facades. Facades have always reflected the program of a building but I personally feel that a facade should also take in consideration its surrounding context. There needs to be a balance and I want to critique the current function of ornament used in contemporary architecture but have no idea how I would translate this into a thesis design project. 

Another thought in my head was if there is a certain city in the world that has a ton of ornamentation that I can study or a city that you can see the all the evolution of ornamentation from antiquity to contemporary. 

Also, I've been trying to think about if this is an actual problem and if it matters if ornament does not reflect place? Or who is my audience for this thesis topic? Who actually cares or is this a made up problem in my head? Also, through out history ornament use symbolism to reflect culture (i.e. religion), so what are the current symbols of today's society?

I hope I actually asked a question and did not just vent my frustration to you. 

Sep 20, 15 12:05 am
BulgarBlogger