Archinect
anchor

FIRST JOB BLUES, is this really what being an architect is like? (plz help!)

CCAA

DISCLAIMER: I tried searching through the threads to see if this had been discussed before, if it has I apologize and I appreciate the link to said post. 

I'm a recent graduate who completed 5 different internships during undergrad at a range of firms (different cities and sizes.) 

I'm seriously considering going to grad school to get my masters in architecture (in the process of applying now.) I recently got my first entry-level full time position (intern architect) in my hometown, which isn't a tiny city but also isn't a large one. I figured I'd stick around the familiar (and cheap) location while I focus on my grad school apps. 

The culture at my firm is really laid back and friendly, we play KEXP radio, there's sodas in the fridge up for grabs, you can take lunch when you want and my boss doesn't make us track hours (he also doesn't expect us to work overtime.) It's a small firm of about 8 people. 

I've been working there for about 6 weeks and it's driving me crazy. I feel kinda like a brat for complaining about it, but I just can't get over staring at a computer all day long. I'm a contact-wearer and by the end of the day my eyes are literally burning from staring at AutoCad. My first two weeks was spent updating elevations in one single document, it drove me crazy just thinking about how if we were using Revit, presumably my week long task wouldn't even exist. (not saying Revit is perfect, in fact I'd love to hear which software you guys use to handle really large projects!)