Archinect
anchor

Consultant Position Hourly Rates

Hi fellow designers & Architects,

I am actively searching for employment and have interviewed with a firm in West LA / Culver City. The position calls for an Intermediate Designer Consultant and they request for an hourly rate.

A little background about myself, I have a BArch from CCA and have 3 years of experience in SD, DD, CD, CA, consultant coordination, code/material research, ADA survey, and graphical work.

As I am new to the consultant position and with little to no knowledge of "how much to charge", my overall concern is, How much should I charge? Does location matter?

I am wary of throwing out a high number and having them refuse my services, yet throw a low number and not make enough to pay bills.

Thanks for the advice.

Sep 16, 15 2:42 pm
senjohnblutarsky

So... they're probably going to have you working in their office, 40 hours per week, but not going to pay you benefits because they convinced you to sign a contract as a consultant.  Sounds like a sweet deal...

Charge what you think you would make at a regular job, plus enough to pay for those benefits you're not getting.

Sep 17, 15 8:15 am  · 
 · 

Thank you senjohnblutarsky!

I actually forgot to mention in the first posting...they are looking for part-time (max. 30 hrs) / project based as-needed. Additionally, the position allows for telecommuting. I dont know if these aspects should also be a factor in to considering hourly rates.

I was estimating a rate of $25-30 an hour.

Sep 17, 15 2:16 pm  · 
 · 

The only advice I can offer is to maybe not use your real name when posting a question about employment / compensation issues.

Sep 17, 15 3:59 pm  · 
 · 
ivorykeyboard

^ Or never post with your real name on archinect.... or ever on the internet.

learn from patrik schumacher he's on here all the time trolling us (if I say his name three times he'll show up)

Sep 17, 15 4:53 pm  · 
 · 
citizen