Archinect
anchor

Use of Digital Design Tools in architecture

Samridh.spa

Hello,

I am a student of architecture from School of Planning and Architecture, Delhi

I am doing a Dissertation on How design process has changed post digital revolution.

And how digital design tools effect the outcome of the design.

So i want to have view on

• At what stage do you people use Digital tools for designing and architecture and what type of tools or only for representation?
  • And do these digital design tools interfere with design or are just use for the ease of it?

​Attatched below are the Aims and Objectives of my Research.

Your responce will be highly valuable to me.

Thanks

Sep 15, 15 11:17 am

Read anything by Robert Aish.

Also look at Antoine Picon's book on digital culture, Mario Carpo's book 'The Alphabet and the Algorithm" and Bob Sheil's collection "Manufacturing the Bespoke."

In truth, there's no one answer, you need to need to negotiate computational and material practices in your own head/software/hardware space as an individual.

Sep 15, 15 12:00 pm  · 
 · 
Samridh.spa

But whats your personal experience

Sep 15, 15 12:09 pm  · 
 · 
MyDream

At the firm where i work they use me for private projects after the design has been done . We are still making changes on this one as well, it is a 10k sqft house I modeled it in revit and rendered it in 3ds max, so it can be flexible.

Tools used:

Autocad

Autocad architecture

Revit

sketch up

3ds max

Sep 15, 15 12:23 pm  · 
 · 

Samridh,

I've answered the question above. My experience with software, hardware and material is driven by the designers and historians listed above, and will differ for yours.