Archinect
anchor

High Pedigree vs not as well known Grad School Advice?

ArtVandalay

Recently, I graduated from a smaller architecture school in the south. It is a four year degree that is not NAAB accredited but they have a Masters program that is only been accredited for a few years. I felt like I got a good education but with grad school I want to be challenged more. Right now I work for a medium sized firm that does a lot of diverse work. Ultimately though, I want to work for a progressive firm that puts design first and tries to do more than typical architecture for its area.

My question is, do big name grad schools offer better opportunities than smaller ones? I wouldn't mind going back to my school for grad school but I would eventually like to leave and go to a bigger city where I feel modern design is received better. My school is lacking in technology. I have looked at UT Austin, FIU in Miami, and University of Tennessee. 

Basically I want to go to the school that won't break the bank and leave me in debt for years but still go somewhere where I can learn and have exposure to professionals and allow me to get more notice than where I am now. 

I guess my main question is, does it matter so much where you go to grad school if you want to work for a progressive design firm. Will they even look at you if you haven't gone to the likes of Ivy League Schools or UC Berkeley - ish type schools? 

Thanks!

Sep 10, 15 11:41 am
zonker

I graduated with an M.arch from a school no one ever heard of "New School of Architecture in San Diego"

I have had to work twice as hard as the Ivies and Berko grads - you just have to be willing to go the extra mile, and then another 10 miles to prove yourself - and if your P.A. is from Berkeley or Harvard, it won't make a damn bit of difference - unless you are willing to work real hard to go beyond