Archinect
anchor

Work culture in Danish architect studios

ET-architect

I'm a French architect and my wife is Scandinavian. As our small family is growing, we're looking at relocating to the Nordic countries.

I have six years of working experience from Paris, currently working for renzo piano. I would like to know how easy or difficult it is to find a job as an architect in Denmark? I don't speak Danish, but at piano's am used to traveling, working in English with an international team. Also, how do you find work-family balance in Denmark? How long are the working days? Can you stay at home if your child falls sick, for example?

My wife's a scholar at the university. A bit tired of the hectic Parisian life, we're looking for a place with an exciting scene in architecture and maybe a more enjoyable framework for everydaylife. Copenhagen is high on our list!

Thank you in advance for you advice!

Sep 9, 15 10:51 am
Vavi

Hey!

Currently working with a trial contract in a mid-sized architecture firm in Copenhagen. I have no family but i will try to describe you the situation from what i see in everyday basis from colleagues etc. Scandinavia and Denmark have one of the more work-life balance conditions in Europe -actually dont know what's going on outside Europe-. They emphasis a lot on their families and in good working conditions. They hate stressful situations and working overtime. This said, i can assure you that you will have more than enough time to bring and pick your kid at/from school. Many colleagues do so. You are flexible to work from home sometimes as well if needed. Most of the times you will work 09.00-17.00 but note that here most contracts are for 37working hours per week. This means that you either leave earlier on Friday or working a bit less each working day. Depends on the firm/contract/your needs.