Archinect
anchor

Contract Salary VS Full Time

awhite

Hello, 

I know that this is a sensitive subject to talk about inside the firm so I came here  to get some answers, I'm a foreign architect who is starting a new career in NYC so I dont know a lot about the system here, I'm currently working as temp in a firm, like a contract, and I'm getting a $XX per hour, no benefits no insurance, just the hourly rate minus taxes withheld. 

There is a possibility of getting hired full time in this firm, so my question is should I expect  an offer based on my hourly rate, I mean multiplying it by 40 hour X 52 week ? or it might drop below that amount because of the benefits i will be getting ?

Also does firms compensate for overtime for full time employees ?

all comments are appreciated

Thanks

AW

Sep 2, 15 11:03 pm
midlander

How do you get a work visa as a foreign architect to do temp/ contract work? Unless you have a greencard or are still on a student visa what your firm is doing is likely illegal, so they are probably screwing you.

Contract pay vs full time isnt usually a simple thing. Most firms hire full time for people they see as having more to offer long term than just x hours of work at y dollars per hour. Really the best way to get a sense of your value is to talk to friends with similar roles in competing firms, and looking on sites like glassdoor. Archinects salary poll is a bit out of date now but still useful since it lists by city. The AIA also has a salary poll but doesnt break down by city so can be harder to compare.

Overtime isnt required for licensed architects or those whose role can be considered professional or managerial in nature, which is pretty broad - so whether you get paid for it depends on office policy. Usually no.