Archinect
anchor

How do you make an architect happy?

sticksandconcrete

Being a contractor, I would like to know how an architect thinks. I am a young, ambitious, and extremely honest PM who has recently gotten an opportunity to work with an architect who could open the door to future work that I want to perform (as opposed to my company). I want to build large beautiful buildings in nice areas and be proud of what I build, not how much I make. Unfortunately my company does not feel the same way right now, but I would like to change that. It could start with this project I have that is LEED, thoughtfully designed, and with a high end architect. The problem is he hates my company, and believes me -my company- to be the typical, low-rent, swindling contractor. My company has done everything required by us and infinitely more, but this architect firm still hates us.

How can I, as a contractor, over the next year change the opinion of an architect and convince him/her of being a good builder. How can I get this architect to knock on my door after this project and say "You guys are great, we need you on this project" 

Sep 2, 15 12:35 pm
Non Sequitur

It's not hard... do a good job, follow instructions, avoid skipping corners and swapping finishes for cheaper alternatives and you'll get repeat business from any architect who cares about the work they put out.

If at the end of a successful project that came on budget with minimal site headaches, the architect still wants nothing to do with you, then let them go. Someone else will come along.

Sep 2, 15 12:58 pm  · 
 · 
DeTwan

The answer is be a good contractor!

How many RFIs did you request? Are you able to think on your own? Do you make a lot of mistakes?  You were to vague with your OP to give a definitive answer, be more honest with yourself assessment and the answers will come to you.

The answers are within you my friend!!!

Sep 2, 15 12:59 pm  · 
 ·