Archinect
anchor

Why some of the architectural firms only accept a maximum of 1 - 2 MB resume and portfolio images

Dear All,

I'm a recent architectural graduate from Western Australia and have been working for nearly 6 months in a local firm. 

Before I started working full time, I was handing out my application to my favourite firms around the world, e.g. Herzog & de Meuron, OMA, Peter Eisenman, Zaha Hadid, etc. What I noticed was that while most of them generally allow you to upload a maximum 10MB electronic copy of the resume and portfolio package, some of them will only accept 2MB or even 1MB! How is that possible and what's the reason behind this? 

I've come across this question just now while doing research and browsing on the internet for some materials to hand in to my 1st students at my university since I've just started tutoring as well. And while looking for axonometric drawings by Peter Eisenman, it says on his website that the file of the resume and images are to be less than 1MB! 

Anyone who's either in these firms or know anything about this, please explain it to me? 

One thought is that they wanted you to be able to choose your best projects and best images of these projects. But how can one image cover everything behind a design research, concept, process and the outcomes?

Anything would be appreciated!

Ryan

Aug 24, 15 1:56 pm
gwharton

Thousands of wannabe interns posting 20MB portfolios will crash a server quickly. Host your portfolio on your own or a third party site and send them a link. That's not difficult.

Aug 24, 15 2:12 pm  · 
 · 
haruki

Interesting that you include Herzog & de Meuron, OMA, Eisenman, and Zaha Hadid as favorite firms. Are they your "favorite" for the quality of their work or just because they are famous?