Archinect
anchor

Graduate programs - If I don't want to practice?

jso1226

Hello,

I got my bachelor's in non-design degree in 2014 (more like urban studies major) and currently working in green building/information design industry within the realm of User Experience Design/Data visualization. 

I have always enjoyed studying architecture and my major interest lies in urban design, specifically. I am looking to apply for architecture graduate schools in order to get a solid background/foundation in architecture, theory and design.

Although, I realized I don't want to practice; I am more interested in research or consulting. So i thought about MA programs or urban studies/environmental sustainability masters programs. I still think architecture school opens a lot more options. But is it really reasonable to go to architecture school but not wanting be an architect? Or is M.Arch the best route to start? Is the experience in practice essential no matter which route you choose?

Please feel free to share your opinions about MA vs. March and recommendations on MA/urban studies/sustainability programs would be appreciated (schools in the US or Europe).

Thank you!

Aug 6, 15 12:11 am
Sharky McPeterson

"Although, I realized I don't want to practice; I am more interested in research or consulting."

How can you teach or be a "consultant" without any real knowledge of the field? How many good consultants have never practiced?

Aug 6, 15 6:17 pm  · 
 · 
Good_Knight

How can you teach or be a "consultant" without any real knowledge of the field?

Um, isn't this exactly what nearly every architectural school professor purports to do?  Yes, this is a criticism.

Aug 6, 15 7:35 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect

A consultant is a guy who knows a hundred ways to have sex but doesn't know any women.

Aug 7, 15 3:45 pm  · 
 · 
3tk