Archinect
anchor

Applying for jobs advice

GraceC

I'll be moving to New York City at the end of the month, and living with family. I'm a recent grad, and have a year's worth of professional experience. I'm from the south, and beginning the process of applying for jobs in the city. However, since i'm not living there untill a few more weeks, I am worried that I won't be considered at all. 

-Do firms in large cites like this automatically discard out-of-state resumes/portfolios?

-What would be my best course of action? 

Thank you

Aug 4, 15 12:24 am
Spoons

Jobs in NYC are competitive and the firms are bureaucratic.  I would reach out to any potential connections you have here to get inside leads.  I just ended my own job search a few weeks ago and out of maybe 20 cover letters + resumes I got 6 interviews and 3 offers, with half the interviews coming from connections I had at the firm.  People are hiring so don't be discouraged if you don't hear anything immediately.   

Here are two options:

1:

The firms don't need to know from the onset that you are applying from out of state.  If any application asks for an address I would just put down the address you will be staying with relatives at.  

If they want to do an interview, I would tell them that you are out of town for a period but will be in NYC in a few weeks and you could then meet in person or you can Skype interview before that. Most firms don't have a problem interviewing candidates over Skype (though you might not want to).  

2:

Or you could simply prep a host of cover letters/applications to go out and send them a few  days before you arrive in NYC, knowing that you could possibly miss an opportunity waiting till you arrive. However, if you do get an interview at least you know you can be there in person.  

Aug 4, 15 1:06 am  · 
 · 
nmgeller88