Archinect
anchor

Farewell and thanks for all the lead???

PencilPusher

Architecture is a second career for me that I started following in 2004 when I returned to school.  Previously, I was a chef, fine dining.  I was on a very successful track with that, but was worried that I couldn't continue to be a chef past about 50 or so.  So, I decided to return to school and start over chasing my original college drop-out failure of architecture.  I had to start the 5 year program over at the beginning, as it had been so long since I was in school.  I graduated with my B.Arch. in 08.  Honors.  Dean's List,  Scholarship to spend a semester studying in Europe.  8 months of full-time work in an up-and-coming boutique firm that had been designing buildings for Dubai.  $100,000 of student loan debt.  Going on two and a half years unemployed.

Since I was laid-off I have been reluctantly pursuing career possibilities in the kitchen again.  Unfortunately, I have been out of the industry long enough nobody will give me the time of day when looking for a chef position.  Now I am in the middle of interviewing for a sous-chef position for a nation-wide chain restaurant.

I'm not looking for sympathy. I know there are others out there that can top me in a blink of an eye.  I guess I'm venting my frustration, anger and mostly sadness.  I really wanted to do something in architecture.  Now all I do is wonder "Did I just throw 8 years, and $100,000 down the drain (Rhetorical)?"  Some mornings I sit around drinking my coffee and have to choke down a beach-ball swell of anxiety in my throat while pushing back a tear minutes after my wife leaves for her miserable under-paid job at a greedy law firm that wont cover the price increases of the support staff's health insurance, even though they had a record breaking year of profits.