Archinect
anchor

Worth getting a degree in Real Estate Development

bhidalgo
Since I know this is a very opinionated forum, I thought would raised a question that I had on the back of my mind about the value of getting a degree in real estate development. Have other people here pursued a masters in real estate development? What has been your experiences since graduating?

Some background, I have been practicing architecture for 15 years now, got my license some time ago, worked at some great quality firms but I am getting tired of working in traditional architectural practices. I feel like I am at a crossroads in my career and I need to switch it up. I still value the power of quality design and still want to be involve on the design side and making buildings, I cannot let that go. But working as a PA in various firms is taking its toll.

I guess I can always fall back on plans b and c, photography or stunt car driving.

Jul 31, 15 1:35 am
geezertect

If you can figure out a way to work for a developer, you can learn the business on the job.  You won't pay money and lose income going to school.  Never pay for something if you can get it for free.  Easier said than done, I know.

Jul 31, 15 8:49 am  · 
 · 
Carrera

Agree with Geezer, why get a degree in something you don't need a degree to practice in, cut back on the Kool Aid and slide over.

Jul 31, 15 11:02 am  · 
 · 
Novice

Depends what kind of developer you want to be and what you want to do. You can do an mred at MIT and work for Goldman Sachs or a reit or you can do an mred at tulane or Woodbury and get an good intro to doing your own projects. If it's the later, the degree is not essential at all as the previous posters have suggested.

Aug 2, 15 11:11 pm  · 
 · 
Good_Knight

The network gained is likely invaluable.

I know a few professional developers and might even be related to some.  Highly profitable partnerships often result from the networks established during and after schooling.