Archinect
anchor

How do you manage your tasks and projects?

rbradley_92@aol.com

Hi all,

My name is Richard and I am a student of architecture and design here in the UK.

I am new to the forum so I'd like to start out by saying hello to everyone.

For my first topic I am keen to get an idea of how architects manage their projects and daily tasks.

Do you guys use pen and paper, to-do lists or project management software?

if you have any advice on how architects out there in the professional world manage their projects, I would be keen to familiarise myself with such methods in preparation!

All the best,

Richard

Jul 28, 15 11:54 am
Carrera

The way I managed things is I gave everything to someone else:)

Jul 28, 15 12:01 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

I just remember things.

No need to write long lists or fiddle around with software.

Jul 28, 15 12:42 pm  · 
 · 
JLC-1

Like this, just without the white tie.

http://www.transitionministriesgroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/juggling-chainsaws-youtube-i4.jpg

Jul 28, 15 1:04 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

i do not remember things, as a general rule.  i have found that when i do remember things, i get in trouble

i have evernote on a tablet.  also syncs to clouds and desktops and such.

Jul 28, 15 2:17 pm  · 
 · 
null pointer

Wing it.

If I forget it, it wasn't important.

Jul 28, 15 7:21 pm  · 
 · 
s=r*(theta)

hang them all on a tack board, when i come in the morning i throw a dart and which ever one the dart hits that's the one that gets ignored for the day

Jul 28, 15 7:57 pm  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

if its not important it ends up on a post-it note. if it is important i am thinking about it and that could be up to 5 projects cycling through. so lets say i have 15 projects that day on the burner , 5 i care about, 5 i write down to get to, and 5 i try and avoid but they usually involve pesky clients who call and email all day.

Jul 28, 15 9:06 pm  · 
 · 
gwharton

Know your target delivery dates (What? When?).