Archinect
anchor

Interior Design vs. Architect vs. Interior Architect

YL17

I am a high school student, who has been looking at many colleges and universities. I have noticed that a lot of schools don't have Architecture, but have Interior Design, or vice-versa. What is the difference between the two? What will be different, job wise, if I choose one over the other?

Interior Designers, Architects, and Interior Architects are jobs that I have seen around the internet quite often. What is the difference between the two, and which do you think is best for me? I like the idea of decorating the inside of a home, but I love making layouts and blueprints. I also prefer designing/re-designing homes rather than other buildings.

Thank you for the help!

P.S. I am not the best at drawing, will that be an issue?

Jul 27, 15 11:26 am
null pointer

It's a matter of where you work. This my NYC experience.

Architects are at the top of the food chain when it comes to privileges afforded by the state. We can design mechanical systems, file structural drawings, as well as provide the standard assortment of architectural services. I'm actually filing an MEP set this week. What's my MEP experience? None. I'm working off of MEEBs, putting a lot of notes on my drawings to shift liability to the contractor and pretending I know whether a 1-1/2" waste line means 1.5" inches diameter or radius (because I don't).

I've worked in firms where the majority of the work was interiors, but it was all run by architects so we had the ability to do DOB filings and bill at architect rates.

Interior designers are restricted in what they can and cannot do by law. An interior designer in NYC can't demolish a wall that is more than ___ square feet and also can't make any changes to the certificate of occupancy of a building without engaging an architect.