Archinect
anchor

M.Arch Fall 2016 Prep

Ebinehita

Hi everyone.

I know this is quite early (or is it?!!!@#$$@), but I've just been really anxious in terms of preparing applications for M.Arch 1 for fall 2016. I feel like I'm currently in a vacuum as I don't really know anyone else who's going through this process (I am from a non-arch background) and it would really help me out (or at least calm my nerves) to know what everyone else has been up to in prep for application season. And make sure I am not falling behind! :)

So, feel free to share questions about where you're applying, portfolio related issues, stats, GRE (omg I should really get on that...), personal statements, recommendations and general freak outs.

- To kick this off, I wanted to know if anyone knew the general reaction to portfolios that have    been bound by the applicant.

- I am an international student, and after applications have been submitted, I will be leaving the country. Is it common for applicants to be called for interviews at certain schools? And if one is invited to do so, how bad will it be to tell them you can't make it? Are interviews common enough that it would be advisable for me to just stay in the US? Or are skype interviews / phone interviews a thing?

Peace ya'll.

Jul 18, 15 6:07 pm
JBeaumont

Most M.Arch programs don't do any interviews.  If they do, they usually allow exceptions or alternate methods for those outside of a stated radius. 

There are always threads on here about how to bind or cover one's portfolio.  As long as it meets the size limitations and anything else stated in the requirements, it doesn't count against you if you bind your portfolio yourself - but it also doesn't matter much how creative you get with the cover or binding - no matter what you do it's just not that important.  Focus on the content.