Archinect
anchor

What's the difference between Project Architect and Project Designer?

Roberto1

Hi everyone! I am moving the the States the next month and I am already looking for jobs. I wanted to ask you the differences between Project Architect and Project Designer. I have 5 years of experience as architect in different fields, designing the whole project, but I don't really know what position i should apply.

Also I don't know if because I am not from here, I haven't worked with your codes before, my mother tongue is spanish... I should apply as a intern first... How much are interns normally get paid?

Thank you very much in advance!!!

Jul 13, 15 12:38 pm
Good_Knight

If you are not registered/ licensed in at least 1 state you are not an Architect in the states.  Period.  Therefore you are not in possession of 5 years of experience as architect if you are even wondering if you should be applying as an intern.

Intern.  You should never refer to yourself as Project Architect.

Project Designer, yes.  There are plenty of wanna be architects hiding behind this title.

Jul 13, 15 12:50 pm  · 
shellarchitect

depends a bit of the firm....

project architect is almost always licensed and generally responsible for the technical documents. 

project designer MAY be licensed and responsible for the appearance of the building. 

you're prob somewhere in the Intern 2-3 area, I don't know what pay in Seattle is like, guestimating 40-60k. 

Pay can vary quite a bit, both by area of the country and size of the firm.

Jul 13, 15 12:54 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla

"Intern" is no longer a thing...Knight, technically you are only an architect in the state that you are licensed in...if you travel to Florida you are no longer an architect...

Jul 13, 15 12:58 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

Licensing laws, you crazy.

Jul 13, 15 1:25 pm  · 
 · 
Good_Knight

Good point jla.  Thanks for pointing this out.

Link to the position NCARB is taking presently on the title "intern"