Archinect
anchor

GPA and portfolio advice for the M.Arch. first professional

ccarry

I am currently taking a year off between my undergrad and masters to create a strong application portfolio and I am also interning at a small architecture firm for a few months. I graduated with a less than stellar GPA of 2.93 however my major GPA was a 3.5. My question is how much does your GPA matter when applying to top programs. I am not sure which schools I should even be hoping to get into. I have had my drawings and a work in progress portfolio critiqued by a few architects and they all have had very positive feedback. Would a strong portfolio and professor recommendations counteract a lower GPA? 

Thanks in advance

Jul 9, 15 4:24 pm
BR.TN

I'm in the same boat as you, except my gpa was a 3.15.

I've heard there are cutoffs with some of the top programs where they won't even consider your application unless you have above a 3.0 gpa. Not all the top programs though. I've heard with Harvard that they've accepted students with 2.7s or 2.9 gpas in the past (because their portfolios were probably the best in the applicant pool). I think Harvard specifically likes to admit the low-GPA-highly-creative type to represent the outliers - many of Harvard's admitted students are admitted because they go against the status quo, and Harvard appears to love that.