Archinect
anchor

Foreign Architect (with 12+ years experience) in Seattle

Penderton11

I am a licensed architect in Honduras and have been practicing architecture in this country for over the past 12 years. I will be moving to Seattle, Washington within the next 5 months to be with my wife (I am in the process of receiving my green card and will have full rights to work in Washington when I relocate).

I would like any insights on how easy/difficult it will be to find employment in the Seattle market given my years of experience and the fact that I am not locally licensed and my degree is from a national university in Honduras which is obviously not an NAAB accredited school (and considering my conversational but not fluent English language skills).

What kind of options do you think I have for finding a job related to architecture (working as an intern while getting my certification, working as an architectural drafter, or assisting with construction supervision, etc)?

What steps would you recommend I take now to best position myself to get a job once I arrive in 3 to 5 months? For example, should I:

-Start applying now to as many entry-level or non-licensed required job postings as possible with architecture firms.

-Study online courses or certificate programs that would help advance my knowledge of local codes/requirements.

-Begin the NCARB traditional path toward licensure (education, experience, examination). Right now the only thing I can think of doing to get a head start on this would be to begin translating my university course descriptions to get my university degree recognized. Or would it make more sense to wait to begin this process until I potentially start working/interning with a U.S. firm that can better guide me/help cover the costs of meeting licensing requirements?

Any feedback or insights would be greatly appreciated!

Jul 6, 15 3:19 pm
JLC-1

I would apply to any jobs you can find.