Archinect
anchor

interior designer/architect questions?

Blocks

I'd like a career in designing spaces and I have a question.

From my research it seems to be that an interior designer and an interior architect are the same profession, and they focus on designing the architecture of internal spaces. Whereas an interior decorator focuses on the furnishings, colour etc.

My main interest is in designing the internal space, so I've been looking at interior design. I have a bachelors in product design, and I live in the UK. Am I likely to break into the industry with my qualifications and a strong portfolio of self-directed interior design projects, or will I need other qualifications?

Any other advice is welcome too.

Jun 25, 15 3:26 pm
Non Sequitur

No such thing as interior architect. It's a marketing term used to raise the sex-appeal of interior designers' "title".

As far as I've seen, you need little qualifications outside of a paying client to design interiors unless you're applying to large corporate office.

Jun 25, 15 3:35 pm  · 
 · 
kickrocks

Decorators are like hmm, get-smart-quick online courses and armchair experts. No qualification, no legal right to exist, but can certainly do the work just fine. Like people who run home blogs and buy their own stuff and Pinterest. 

There's really no such thing as an interior architect. They want to sound elevated or distance themselves from the ugly decorator image but it's pointless and since architect is often a protected title, that's a quick way to get sued.

http://biid.org.uk/education-and-careers/interior-architect-or-interior-designer