Archinect
anchor

Need Career Advice from Licensed Architects

ArchQuestion

Thank you in advance for reading and for any input. 

I am at a point in my career where I’m not sure which direction to go. I have been working in firms since I was in college. After I graduated in 2002 with a BA in Architecture I worked for several firms of various sizes working on both residential and light commercial projects.  After being laid off in 2007 I decided to go on my own and focus on residential architecture. Aside from wanting to alleviate being laid off again, I felt I had been in a rut working in firms – being known mainly as a drafting and rendering pro. I felt like I needed to learn a lot more about construction and the way buildings go together and the only way to do that was to just throw myself completely in and open my own studio. For me it was a good decision and things have gone really well so far except now I’m at a point where I want to be licensed.  I'm also missing the interaction of working in a firm and collaborating with others and I'm getting a little burnt out on the client end of residential design. So my question is this – is there a place for someone like me in a mid-size to larger firm who has successfully run their own studio for 7 years? I’m trying to establish where I would fit in and what position I would apply for within a larger firm. I’m very strong on the design end so an ideal position would be that of a designer…but I’m not sure how those positions work in larger firms? Can you go back to working in larger firms after you have been self-employed for so long or is it frowned upon by larger firms? I feel like my experience running my own business for so long would be an asset but I'm not sure. Any insight or advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much.  

Jun 23, 15 4:04 pm
JeromeS

Another perspective;