Archinect
anchor

what is a proper salary for entry level architect? NYC 2015?

brickoncrete

I had this offer from a firm, and they said they are willing to pay me $38000 a year because I have zero experience. 

I get that I have zero experience, but I feel like $38000 is too small even for fresh grads. 

What is a proper salary for entry level architect in New York City??

And how should I negotiate the salary??

Jun 18, 15 9:07 pm
Archinect

You can view actual salaries, as submitted by architects, at the Archinect Salary Poll.

Jun 18, 15 9:08 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

I knew a guy who made 32k for an entry level in Podunk, Pennsylvania in 2007.

Jun 18, 15 9:14 pm  · 
 · 
JeromeS

I just hired someone for $37.5 to count doors

Jun 18, 15 9:18 pm  · 
 · 
null pointer

just take it.

in nyc, you take what people give you and then you jump ship. rinse and repeat.

i've never heard of a nyc firm with good retention (aside from maybe a few smaller shops, and the starchitects that prey on "someday i will.."'s).

Jun 18, 15 10:42 pm  · 
 · 
awaiting_deletion

/\ yes

quitting in NYC and switching firms is the fastest way to a good salary.

Jun 18, 15 10:46 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

any chance that the archinect salary survey will include dates?  It's of little value when it includes results from years ago with no context

Jun 19, 15 12:23 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

Yeah, that's pretty low, but not unheard of. You have a professional 5 year degree, but while you list a lot of software on archinect, I don't see it in your work on your website.

I wouldn't take 38k in NYC though, I don't know how you live on that with student loans.

Jun 19, 15 1:29 pm  · 
 · 
pale shelter