Archinect
anchor

Masters Urban Design

g2244779911223345545

I have an MA in Urban Planning and am seeking to work as an Urban Designers.

Will getting a second masters in UD make me competitive? Or is really being an architect or landscape architect the only way to practice?

Thanks!

Jun 15, 15 3:12 pm
thompson's gazelle

What's your background? If you have a Arch degree from undergrad, I think you'll be fine without another degree. If you don't, and are thinking about another degree, you should get an M.Arch. UD and UP are similar but at the same time very different-UD being architecture at a larger scale and UP being more about policy-making and economics I'd say. The school I went to requires a B.Arch or an M.Arch in order to apply for an UD degree so that pretty much explains the difference. When you say you want to work as an urban designer, what type of work do you imagine?

Jun 15, 15 9:56 pm  · 
 · 
g2244779911223345545

I have a MUP degree and have been working as a transportation planner (think bike lanes, bus rapid transit, complete streets) for 6 years.

I'd like to work on streetscape plans, corridor plans, master planning, public plazas, public space etc...I'm looking at getting an MUD degree as a way to shift into that realm, since MUD is more design based. There are several programs whom allow planners with strong design background to apply, which I am (Rhino,Sketchup,Cad, etc...).

Clearly having an MLA or March would benefit fit me greater but as a working professional these programs are more time consuming and costly hence my interest in a 1+ year MUD degree.

Ultimate questions though is will it really help me enough to compete with those with March or MLA?

Jun 16, 15 10:56 am  · 
 · 
3tk