Archinect
anchor

Best country for architects to work

justinritchey17

Hello, I am an undergrad architecture student in Texas, and I have been thinking about practicing architecture in the US or abroad. Now would be a good time to start learning a foreign language if needed. Also debating about where to get my masters because I am currently pursuing a non-professional degree and some countries require a professional degree from their country. I have debated about staying in Texas, or practicing architecture in Sweden, Norway, Switzerland, Australia, South Africa, UAE, China, or India. These are supposed to be good countries for architecture, but I am open to other countries. If I go to China, UAE or India, I will go to a grad school in the US, however if I choose Europe I need to get a degree in the EU for their registration. What country has the most opportunities in the future, and is the best for architect jobs and pay? I am also interested in heritage/building conservation and sustainability as my focus and currently I can only speak English, so keep that in mind. Thank you for your time and help.

Jun 14, 15 2:28 pm
midlander

go where you want to live. the basic economics of architecture are the same everywhere, and the business cycle is about 5-10 years between recessions no matter where you work. what seems like a hot emerging economy today may not be in 5 years. the only way all the trouble you go to will be worth it is if you actually love and appreciate the people and places you surround yourself with.

that's it, really. what kind of place do you think you would like to live? go somewhere like that and try it.

Jun 14, 15 5:56 pm  · 
 · 
justinritchey17

Thanks for your input. I appreciate it. I think I will stay in Texas or at least America. If I want to move later, then I will, but it is easier just to get my license here in the US. 

Jun 16, 15 9:40 am  · 
 · 
Mr_Wiggin