Archinect
anchor

Build computer for landscape architecture

drike yeas

Hi,

I'm a landscape architecture student and this is my first time to build a computer. Hope there are people who know computer parts well that can give me suggestions on what to buy.

My budget is <AUD1000 (~USD800) and I need a computer that is able to run multiple programs simultaneously with a speed that won't slow me down on work.

The programs I use are Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign, CAD, Rhino, Revit, 3ds Max. And I'm planning to learn Premier and After Effect in near future. 

Was looking for/at:

8G RAM memory

AMD A8 7600/ Intel i5 or equivalent

Nvidia geforce gtx 750 or better

Hybrid 25G SSD and 1TB HDD

and other essential components

I'm not sure which brand/model of each component are suitable for myself, also I'm afraid of buying components that end up not fitting each other (this is my first time...) so hope someone can help me out!

Thanks for your attention.

Jun 13, 15 12:22 pm
Larchinect

I would spend more for an I7 processor and get a more basic graphics card. 25 gig ssd might be kind of small. dont forget a good fan/cooling system and case, motherboard and cost of new OS.

On another note, you're going to spend a lot of time learning software you wont use much. Learn sketchup and vray, maybe rhino, know how to navigate revit maybe and of course cad. Spend more time learning plants and drawing. Just my unsolicited advice.

Jun 13, 15 1:55 pm  · 
 · 
chigurh

do landscape architects use computers?  You can probably get by with some colored pencils and a tree stencil.  

Jun 13, 15 10:50 pm  · 
 · 
drike yeas

Hi Larchinect,

Thank you for your advise, I really appreciate it. And just some questions out of the original topic, what software would you recommend the best for 3d modelling and rendering for LA? and how important is presentable hand-drawing in the industry? (I have not started working in the field yet)