Archinect
anchor

Looking to Start Over - Any tips?

wifom

Hi.

To be honest, I was slightly afraid of posting on here because some of the replies can get a little nasty (I've been browsing the forums for a while). But it's okay, I'm ready to be judged.

A little about me: I graduated from the University of Washington with an English Literature BA. I wasn't expecting to do anything with it though, which is why my life after graduation was a mess. I did a few months of retail work, did some traveling, and (almost) finished making a game. My spoiled and immature mentality left me in the rut, not prepared for the harsh realities of life after college.

Now, I want to turn my life around and do something that I can put 150% of my effort into. I know 99.9% of the people who post on these forums have such a strong passion for the subject that someone like me who wants to just pounce into the architectural world makes for a good laugh. Trust me, though. I've done my research. I know architecture requires at times 60+ hours of work a week, lots of coffee support and mountains of stressful nightmares. I've had my fair share of "overworking." 

Although I may not have any professional knowledge in the land of architecture and art, I have been drawing as a hobby since high school. I draw... mostly anime. But that doesn't mean I can't mature my level of graphic and visual expertise. 

My next course of action:

• Finish my current freelance work & complete the projects I've committed to
  • Attend a local community college for graphic design courses (and other pre-reqs)
  • Study & take the GRE
  • Make a portfolio
  • Apply to M.Arch programs

Some / most of you may not agree that throwing yourself into something that you aren't overly hyped and particularly fanatical about seems illogical, but I have no doubts that I can truly enjoy putting my drawing passion into a professional practice. 

All of that information for some questions: