Archinect
anchor

Academic Advice

argon

Hello all! I'm new to this website but it seems to be the right place to get valuable advice. My dream has always been to get into an ivy league architecture school for my M.Arch - not because of the prestige or the name, but because I think the atmosphere will be very inspiring, as the work produced there is amazing and the university buildings themselves are lovely. 

For my Bachelor's degree, I chose not to study architecture as I thought a B.Arch would not be very useful to me unless I have a M.Arch too, so it would be a bit of a risk. It seems I made a mistake, as getting into M.Arch without a background in architecture seems very difficult. My background is in interactive arts, design, and programming (minor in computer science).

I am currently in my second year of undergraduate study but I would like to start working on my application portfolio for M.Arch. Is it too late to start (if I plan on applying in about 3 years)? I come from a small Canadian university, so I am very worried that I will have virtually no chance of even being considered.

To make up for it, I hope to have a great portfolio that would increase my chances. I was hoping architects or architecture students on this website could give me some advice. Any tips for an ivy league portfolio? What should I keep in mind?

Another question I have is that I've noticed (from looking at a few other portfolios) that most people who are accepted into good universities have a very similar, specific architectural style. Is it necessary to throw away my ideas and personal style in order to "fit in"? 

I understand that in the workplace for architecture, there really is a certain demand for a certain style. However, I think my eventual goal after studying will be to teach architecture (i love the academic environment) rather than work in a traditional firm. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Jun 3, 15 1:37 pm
Non Sequitur