Archinect
anchor

Create your own summer job?

Zach Tyler

I am studying Interior Design in Scottsdale,AZ and I have looked for an internship for this summer and nobody will allow me to work for them. I am transferring to Woodbury University in the fall to study Interior Architecture so I can only work for this summer. My question is, is there anything I can do this summer if an internship doesn't work out? Aside from just working at a restaurant or retail. I want to do something that will enrich my studies and do something meaningful this summer. Summer school is off the table as well because I cannot take any classes that would help me. Any and all suggestions are welcome! Thank you.

Jun 1, 15 9:04 pm
archanonymous

Do a competition or an AA Visiting School somewhere.

Jun 1, 15 9:12 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Troll archinect.

Jun 1, 15 9:40 pm  · 
 · 
Zach Tyler

I just finished my sophomore year, but first year of really being in ID and Arch. classes. I know CAD and SketchUp but I don;t know if I know enough to offer my skills in a freelance sort of situation, even for no money. Thanks for the replies so far! Keep it up! 

Jun 1, 15 10:21 pm  · 
 · 
Schoon

Even if you can't take any helpful classes over the summer, there's always a wealth of knowledge on the internet. Some universities have course materials posted online that you can access for free, and software tutorials for Revit and the like are everywhere. Summer's a great time to improve your skills at your own pace, but don't forget to enjoy yourself! I go to a school with year-round classes, and it's taking its toll... but hey, only two more weeks until my 1-week break!

Jun 1, 15 10:41 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

You could work for a contractor to get on site experience, even if it is just cleaning up the job site or something.

Jun 2, 15 9:00 am  · 
 · 
StarchitectAlpha