Archinect
anchor

Need suggestion for buying graphics card

el_draco

Hello everyone,

I am a student of architecture. I have a PC which I built in 2012. But since I am not much into gaming, I never bought a dedicated graphics card. The onboard graphics was enough for me. But now I am gonna need one for the programs we are gonna start using this year (like cad, sketchup, Ps, revit etc). So, I did some research on the internet. Some say Quadro/FirePro are necessary, others say GeForce/Radeon are good enough to pull off the softwares required in architecture. The more I researched, the more confused I got. So, I need suggestions from you guys about what to buy.

Also, I am listing some of the cards I found while doing research, which are within my budget (200$)

FirePro v4800

Quadro k600

GeForce GT 740

GeForce GTX 750 ti

Radeon R9 270

Radeon R7 260X

And also it would be really helpful if you guys mention what graphics card do you guys personally use and whats your verdict on those.

Thank you!

[My specs:
i5-2420
Asus P8H67-M pro
8gb corsair ram
500gb Seagate HD (will be upgrading to a SSD soon)
LG 1080p monitor.]

May 28, 15 2:09 am
jungo

This has been answered before, but there is so much more you should be buying before a new graphics card. You program use will be by bottlenecked by your old i5, 8gb of ram and boot speeds hindered by a lack of SSD.  

Upgrade these first, unless you're intending to start real time rendering. 

May 28, 15 2:16 am  · 
 · 
el_draco

@jungo Thanks for replying. And Yeah, I checked the previous threads. But either most of them are quite old or suggested cards out of my budget. Thats why I reposted.

And, speaking of hardware, I am going to upgrade ssd and ram soon. But are you sure that I need a new processor? because, I've researched quite a bit on that too and most of the forums say that its unnecessary to upgrade from a i5-2420 right now.

May 28, 15 10:04 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur