Archinect
anchor

engineering work

varchitecture

How marketable are intern architects (or established architects for that matter) to engineering firms? Is there a spot for an architect at an engineering company other than CAD/drafting? How far can an architect push into the engineering side of things without having to become an engineer?

I am an intern architect about 1500 hrs into IDP but not getting as much structural experience as I would like. I understand why architecture and engineering have diverged as professions from a liability perspective, but I want structural design to be a bigger part of my skill set than simply making the bare minimum hours required for licensure.

Are there any certifications or post-professional degrees out there that would help better orient me towards working on the engineering side of things for a few years? Or is an architecture degree enough of a marketable asset to an engineering firm?

Thanks for any insight! 

May 19, 15 4:27 am
mightyaa

Trick question.  Engineers also cad monkeys...  So, you are qualified, but I doubt that's the direction you want.  Once licensed as an architect, you have value to certain engineering groups.  Example is something like a power plant; it has an office component too, but is mostly an engineering feat.

May 19, 15 10:12 am  · 
 · 
Volunteer

You might want to work for an architecture and engineering firm....just a thought.

May 19, 15 10:23 am  · 
 · 
slowhare414

I believe at least a little time in one of the typical consultants offices would benefit most architects.  Not only would you gain a more in depth knowledge of the particular subject matter, you would also start to understand the workflow and what/when information given to the consultant would be most useful.