Archinect
anchor

What minor most related to Historic Preservation

justinritchey17

Hello, I am an Undergrad Architecture student who is trying to pick a minor, because I have credits I need to fill. When I go to grad school I want to specialize in historic preservation, so I want to get a minor related to historic preservation or that will help me out as a preservation architect in the future. My school does not offer a minor in architecture history, sustainability, or historic preservation. I have considered either technology management (business), art history, history, anthropology or geography. What would be the most helpful or related to historic preservation or architecture? I thought business would, I am just not sure if I would like business, because of finance and accounting. I am more of a humanities and history person. What minor should I get? If you have any other suggestions please tell me, I am not set on any minor. Thank you so much for your time and help. 

May 15, 15 6:44 pm
Wilma Buttfit

I say art history... just my thoughts. I think that a foundation in art history is a foundation in all of mankinds' thoughts and creations, including architecture. What do you want to eventually do?

May 15, 15 10:12 pm  · 
 · 
anonitect

History, engineering, urban planning, archaeology, museum studies, chemistry.... lots to choose from -- what kind of preservation work are you interested in? Research is a big part of most preservation practice, so a history minor is an obvious choice. But, if you want to deal with old structures, engineering might be a better fit. Preservationist talk about placemaking quite a bit -- planning would be relevant there. Etc.

May 16, 15 9:58 am  · 
 · 

most related..... 

Historic Preservation