Archinect
anchor

How to apply stealthily for new job?

washingtonian

I'm an intern with a little less than 2 years experience. I'm not incredibly happy at my present job and there are job openings for which I'm qualified at some of the big fancy firms in town. I'd like to at least test the waters. 

However, my best references would be from my current employer, who I don't want to know I'm looking around. Should I use them anyway? Or use older references from school? Thanks!

Apr 27, 15 7:30 pm
geezertect

Prospective employers will want to know what you are currently doing, so a gap in your resume will not look good.  If you are an intern, does that mean you are getting paid nothing or close to nothing (minimum wage)?  If so, your current "employer" shouldn't be shocked and amazed that you want to move up in the world (just like he/she did).  If you aren't getting paid, what do you have to lose?

Apr 28, 15 11:02 am  · 
 · 
quizzical

washingtonian: I understand the reluctance to jeopardize your current position, even though you're not happy there. Still, most firms where you might interview probably will need / want current references - without those there will be a certain amount of uneasiness that can jeopardize your ability to secure a new job.

You don't indicate the size of your current firm. While references from a principal always are desirable, perhaps there's someone at a supervisory level who might be willing to serve as a refernce. Is there someone below the ownership level who you can trust with this information and who also knows enough about your work to serve as an effective reference? Are there individuals you've worked with at consulting firms who might be able to serve as references? Look for creative ways to solve this problem without necessarily asking a principal of your firm to serve in this capacity.