Archinect
anchor

Low GPA from Good School, taken into account by Admissions panel?

Berns Bry

Hi all, I'd like to ask a question that's been weighing on my mind. I have a degree from a top school in Asia (Top 20 in the world) with at gpa of 2.9. It's extremely low, I know. But my college was a killing field and graded on a bell curve with several of my peers going into Ivy Leagues.

I'd recently applied to a few European universities for their grad programmes and was rejected. But looking through their websites and current list of students made me feel even more uneasy. Several of the students were from unranked universities in Indonesia, India etc. Googling further on these universities you'd come to realise they don't even have stable websites!

But given the fact they were given admission, means their grades were good. Speaking to several indonesian peers, they told me of the various dubious ways of several colleges in their country and their grading procedures, bribery etc.

My questions is this, how can an admission panel differentiate between a low GPA from a top college vs a good GPA from a college with dubious standing?

Does an admission panel simply place them on an even playing field?

Does having a portfolio help me overcome my grades?

Apr 27, 15 12:24 pm
Non Sequitur

Why such a low GPA?

a minimum GPA usually is used as a cut-off to trim the applications down. Your portfolio might be spectacular but if the school you're applying to demands a min 3.X, then chances are they won't even take a look at yours.

Apr 27, 15 12:30 pm  · 
 · 
null pointer

Someone's looking for comfort.

Look elsewhere.

Apr 27, 15 12:57 pm  · 
 · 

Not meaning to sound unsympathetic but you do understand the irony of an Asian student complaining about the inherent unfairness of the bell curve.

Apr 27, 15 1:15 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

^just ask Allan Bakke.

Apr 27, 15 1:21 pm  · 
 ·