Archinect
anchor

please help me find the right laptop!

ine433

Hello!

I realize this question is common but I have still not found a good answer from reading lots of posts. I am new to this forum and also purchasing computers. I recently finished undergrad in arch and started a job at an arch firm. The last two laptops I got were given to me as part of scholarships so I have NEVER purchased a laptop. My last laptop just crashed and won’t even turn on anymore, I really don’t think I can use it anymore anyways. I am completely new to this and not very good at the tech stuff. I would love to get some tips as to what I should purchase. I am planning to apply to grad school soon so I want to be able to use whatever I purchase now. I’m hoping it’ll run as good as new when I need to start on grad but I will also set up my own desktop when it comes to it. I did a lot of my work on my laptop but also used the lab on renders and such. I am really hoping to stay below $1,000, ideally $600-$800 so if you know of any good sites were they sell refurbished or I can get good deals please let me know. I would love to score a great laptop for a fraction of the actual cost. The reason why I really need a laptop now is that I want to learn Revit and Sketch up. I am also looking to use it to continue improving my AutoCAD, rhino and adobe skills (Photoshop). I have heard its best to build my own laptop and not buy from a manufacturer, don’t really know what that means though. I also watch lots of TV and movies on my laptop and use Skype, I don’t play games at all though. I would like to get options in different price ranges if that is possible. I do not want a mac computer, hence the price range(: also lots of my studio buddies with macs had their work lost, crashing programs before a deadline and that sort of thing, which I actually rarely if ever had with my crappy Sony.

Apr 21, 15 5:11 pm
Lian Chikako Chang