Archinect
anchor

Help - Choosing Summer Opportunities

anghln

Hey Archinect,

I'm an undergraduate junior in a 4-year architecture program at an Ivy League university. Next fall, I'm hoping to apply to grad schools for a dual degree in architecture and urban planning, with the hopes of going into the design/planning field as a career.

This upcoming summer, I have two options. The first is working for a medium-size planning and design firm in Philadelphia as a design intern. The second is doing independent urban planning research with a professor on campus (including in-field research in Brazil).

I've interned with a development firm, but never an architecture firm before, so on one hand the professional experience might round out my resume. On the other hand, the research I do this summer would contribute to a publication and segue into my senior thesis, and the professor I would be working with is incredibly well-known and influential in the field.

Which do you think would benefit my grad school applications more: a big research project or professional design experience?

Thanks!

Angeline

Apr 20, 15 10:59 am
Non Sequitur

Which one is paid work?

take that one.

Apr 20, 15 11:05 am  · 
 · 
anghln

They are both paid.

Apr 20, 15 11:29 am  · 
 · 
DeTwan

Which ever pays more...

Apr 20, 15 11:33 am  · 
 · 
toosaturated

The latter sounds like a more fulfilling opportunity. I would love to go to Brazil.

Apr 20, 15 12:00 pm  · 
 · 
BR.TN

A big research project will benefit your grad applications more.

Reasoning:

you mention that the research you do this summer would contribute to a publication and segue into your senior thesis, and the professor you would be working with is incredibly well-known and influential in the field...