Archinect
anchor

Post-graduate school choice dilemma (UK)

Farchitect

Hi All

I have a dilemma regarding my choice of school for MArch Architecture.

Quick background:

I graduated from De Montfort University with first class honours and the highest overall marks in the year in summer 2014. I have been working at a large well known practice in London since September.

The choices:

I have offers from The Bartlett (UCL), Newcastle, Manchester, Oxford Brookes and Westminster. I’ve also applied to Sheffield but not heard back from them yet. Having gone to an ex-poly (although I really enjoyed it and it served me well) I’m keen to go to a “real” university for my Part II for a variety of reasons. So effectively my choices are The Bartlett, Newcastle, Manchester and Sheffield.

Thoughts:

Essentially I am torn primarily between Sheffield and UCL (seemingly the two most reputable). I feel like UCL would look great on the CV and in some ways would be an exciting place to be, but I’m scared by horror stories such as this: http://archinect.com/forum/thread/94420/disillusioned-bartlett-student-needs-advise-on-other-schools- I’m concerned about the following and would appreciate responses to any of the below:-

• The very artistic approach to the course will be hard for me, as although I am very creative and theoretical I am not especially brilliant at drawing, Photoshop and the like (by what I perceive to be the Bartlett’s standards at least). Even if I will learn or pick up these skills sufficiently, it is not something I am terribly interested in learning, as it is never really going to be used in practice and will be forgotten soon after graduating.
  • The course will be too dogmatic and my creativity and personal theories will be hampered by overly prescriptive units and egotistical tutors.