Archinect
anchor

My career options?

Blocks

Hello. I'd like some advice on where to take my career. I'm in my mid 30s, currently working in 3d visualisation, and I have a BSc in product design. I have done a small amount of freelance retail design and architectural work, where I was partly involved the design, and responsible for the visualisations. As I have worked in architectural visualisation, I have a good understanding of architectural drawings. I am highly skilled in 3ds Max, and quite skilled in Rhino.

My main interest is in designing and visualising spaces, and I think that I made the wrong decision to study product design instead. However, it has provided me with strong transferable design skills. I haven't narrowed it down to a specific field yet, for several reasons, but I do know that I would be happiest designing spaces that allow for creativity and problem solving, rather than just going through the motion. Being at my age, I would rather not go back into education, but I'd prefer it if I could get my foot in the door and progress from there.

So with my experience, what are my options without further education? And what further education do I need otherwise? I look forward to your advice.

Apr 14, 15 5:35 pm
SneakyPete

If you want to BE an architect you need to get licensed, which requires a lot of experience or an accredited degree. If you want to WORK WITH architects, you need to guide your career that way.

Apr 14, 15 6:02 pm  · 
 · 

My advice, since you asked, would be to put together two portfolios(one for school and the other for consultant work) and post them here and ask for constructive comments and then decide.

Apr 14, 15 6:44 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

www.visulaizingarchitecture.com

that guy has a fairly compelling story - probably don't need to go to architecture school to visualize spaces.

Apr 14, 15 8:47 pm  · 
 · 
Larchinect