Archinect
anchor

How much to charge - 8 Yrs Exp, newly licencsed

eddyramone

Hello everyone,

I just wanted to get a ballpark idea on what architects typically charge for the following type of work:

A small 1-story grocery (approx.1,500 SF) near my home needs the Existing floor plan documented and Stamped/ Signed by an Architect, then submitted to the county permit office so that it can attain a Commercial Use permit. There is no new work being done.

Just field verifying existing conditions.

The previous owner did not have a floor plan of the space and the fire dept is requiring one from the new owner.

I could probably field verify the thing in 3-4 hours and another 6-8 hours on the computer is my feeling. What is typical to charge for something like this???

Thanks a lot guys. I have 8 years experience and got licensed one year ago. I've heard as high as 4,000 dollars and as low as 200 dollars...

- Confused

Apr 13, 15 11:44 pm
BulgarBlogger

$2000/page

Apr 14, 15 12:26 am  · 
 · 

First off.... $200 is bullshit. Never bill your direct labor. Bill hourly rate is a multiplied value  where you take your direct labor and multiply it by a multiplication factor.

There is a reason. You are in business. This means you have to operate this like a business. You should in some regards treat it as if you are running a corporation (except how you handle your taxes). You are always making an income not just for yourself but also for the business. In fact, you should have separate bank accounts. One for business and another for personal. This is for your accounting of business. Depending on what business type that you are using as a business, you will have different tax rules to follow.