Archinect
anchor

Disaster Relief Architecture - Thesis

jas1092

Hi everyone,

I am a third year architecture student at the Politecnico di Milano. I have to start my thesis soon and would like to do it on disaster relief architecture. I was wondering if anyone had any advice regarding books, websites, magazines or articles which could be useful for me. I would greatly appreciate any help!
I am interested in Architecture for Humanity's work as well as that of Shigeru Ban's - so the idea of working with local or readily available resources to quickly respond to natural or anthropological disasters. This doesn't necessarily mean construction in terms of design but can also look at preventative measures, engineering techniques etc.

Any and all help is really appreciated - thank you!

Jasmine

Apr 12, 15 10:00 am
citizen

key search terms: resilience, resilient

Apr 12, 15 1:01 pm  · 
 · 

Also, keep in mind disasters don't just happen in tropic climates design for cold weather as well as hot weather.

Peter N

Apr 13, 15 9:23 am  · 
 · 
jas1092

Hi Peter thanks for your reply. Yes of course, I don't intend on limiting my research to only tropical climates, I didn't think that I had implied that...!

Apr 15, 15 4:57 am  · 
 · 

Good to hear that you are looking for a more universal solution all too often we get ideas for temporary disaster shelters that are mostly tent structures not something that could work in winter or over a long period of time.

also remember that the materials need to be recyclable or reusable in permanent buildings as it is a poor practice to take back emergency shelters like we in the US did for Sandy or have to dump tons of materials into landfills like we did for Katrina

Over and OUT

Peter N

Apr 15, 15 9:36 am  · 
 · 
jas1092