Archinect
anchor

UIUC or Univ.Houston or Arizona State

nehaprane

Hi, guys I am an international student from India,I have completed my B.arch Degree, I have been accepted into the above three colleges for the 2-year M.arch programs, I am a little confused so if anyone could help me with any information on these three colleges it would be really helpful.  I have certain specific questions :

1)   Does the proximity of a city make a difference in the graduate schooling like is it beneficial to be closer to a city? As Houston and Phoenix are bigger cities but Urbana -Champaign is a university town so is that going to make a big difference to my experience as well as oppurtunities ?

2) I think the program at Univ. Houston -Gerald D. Hines College of architecture seems to be well ranked but all the people that I have spoken to havent seem to have heard of this college at all. Could anyone throw some light on this university ? Preferably someone who has attended school here.

3) How good is Arizona State Univ, the Tempe Campus? I think its a school with an elaborate design background hence might be an interesting place to study, then again not very well ranked 

4) UIUC has a good reputation and brand name how much of a difference would that make?

5) okay last one :p Which of these three colleges would be reccomended for Sustainable Design ?

I really need a few opinions so if anyone could help me out it'd be great!!!! Thank you so much :)

Apr 10, 15 12:13 pm

I went to UIUC, the distance culturally and travel wise from Chicago is relatively small

The program is / has changed and the reputation for technical competence of it's graduates is diminished as it has tried to gain a stronger ranking in the design field. Lots of turmoil in the program's leadership, it is a state school in Illinois so tuition is very expensive as the republican governor is cutting state funds tuition and fees especially for out of state students will be rising.