Archinect
anchor

what do you think of Lawrence Technological University's Distance Learning Architecture Degree Programs?

yuan xue liang

Dear all, I am yuan xue liang woring in China , sichuan province in the field of urban design, I have a master degree of urban design and I would like to study for a degree program of architecture. Nevertheless, I could not study full time locally or oversea.  Recently, I notice Lawrence Technological University offer distance Learning master architecture degree program which could complete mostly online except the master studio class, I find it quiet suitable for me. Does anybody have experience of this program or know about this program or know about the Lawrence Technological University architecture program.

Thanks,

yuen hok leung

Jul 7, 11 12:47 am
shellarchitect

In general I'm happy with the ltu program, and it may be your only option for distance learning in architecture.  However I'm not sure that going through the entire program online is a very effective way to learn much. 

The online classes require a lot of time for additional reading and "discussion."  The work of the online students is much worse than the work done by regular students.  I believe that you would have to come to southfield to present you work at the end of each semester.

Jul 8, 11 10:24 am  · 
 · 
le bossman

personally i don't think distance learning is an appropriate way to learn about architecture if you can avoid it.  architecture, good architecture at least, requires a lot of thoughtful one on one discussions with clients and team members.  it requires a lot of listening, and most appropriately, the ability to read body language.  ltu isn't well known outside of the midwest, or even michigan for that matter.  i would guess you would have a lot of difficulty getting a job in a firm anywhere if you said you got your degree online from ltu.  that's not to say i have any problem with the rest of the program.